I am a thinker and a writer, and I study the universe.

Beyond Madness

The concept of madness has always fascinated me. There are so many connotations that go along with this term, and many people shudder when they even hear it. For some, madness is the act of doing something that is so out of character for human beings to do, such as repeating some ritual more times than is necessary, or robbing some innocent girl of her virginity, or robbing some other human being of his or her own life. For others, madness is a state of mind in which a human being can no longer recognize what is reality. This might include seeming to be speaking to somebody when there really is nobody else there, or fleeing a frightening animal when there is no animal around to be frightened about, or looking at a family member and no longer recognizing the face. But most of us believe that all of these acts can make a person be seen as mad. And madness is probably one of the most frightening things people are afraid of.

But what is beyond madness? What is it that can make people even more afraid of madness? According to Sovic Stort, the main villain in my series, that thing is death. But then again, is death an actual thing? What is it anyway? Stort answers this like so: “It is a path, or perhaps, a destination.” If it is a path, where does it lead? If it is a destination, of what does it consist?

My novels will explore themes about death, including murder and suicide, as well as the fear and anticipation of death, and madness, and torture, and all manner of dark things that force the human being to confront what it itself really is. There will also be all manner of light things, such as love, kindness, and life. I am quite excited to be writing these stories! I suppose the series could be called “Beyond Madness.” Or maybe not. Maybe that would just be one volume in that series… I’m not sure yet. One thing I haven’t anticipated, though: Sovic Stort, the villain, is much more philosophical than I had originally intended him to be. One of the last words he spoke in one of the books was when Tracot was pleading for him to let Durelin go, since he was only a child and did not know any better. Sovic Stort agrees reluctantly, since he was looking forward to killing both of them. And then his last words were, “Because, everybody was a child once, even me.”

Sorry I haven’t written much lately. I don’t have much time now. Thanks for reading! And when I finally finish these books, I hope you all enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

