I am a thinker and a writer, and I study the universe.

Silence

I was home when I needed to go to the kitchen or use the restroom. To get there from my bedroom, I need to go down this hallway (which is not very long, by the way). But each time I had to use that hallway in the dark, I feel on edge as if expecting something terrible to attack me. However, sometimes I do not feel very afraid to walk down that hallway in the dark, and I realized that it was because somebody was playing some music or watching a video or two people were speaking to each other. For some reason, there is something about silence that makes the world seem creepier. But why? Sometimes it seems paradoxical: if there was silence, that would mean there was nothing out there…right? And yet we are usually more on edge when there is silence than if there was already some kind of sound in the background.

Perhaps because if there was silence and we hear a sudden sound, it would be more noticeable…

Perhaps because if there was silence, we would be more prone to think that there would be a sudden sound…

…or maybe there is no real reason for it…

…or maybe there is…

We do not know the answers to everything, but these are some of the things that we are capable of thinking about. I am glad to be a human being that is capable of abstract thought. I’m not sure what my life would be like without this ability…and yet I do know what it would be like: it would be only caring about the day-to-day things and not be plagued by past experiences, especially the dark ones. But despite this drawback, my life is a lot richer because I am capable of abstract thought.

Sorry I haven’t updated this blog a bit more. One of my new year’s resolutions is to update it more…maybe about 4 posts a month (about once a week). I will release more information on my life later today…but right now, I will sleep. I hope you liked the thoughts that I put in this post.

Leave a Reply

