I am a thinker and a writer, and I study the universe.

Another Possibility

I am thinking of yet another possibility. After the semester began, my heart began thirsting to learn about something more. The major of Integrated Studies (IS) had already crossed my mind long before I started at this school. But the possibility has come up again…after I heard that one of my classmates was in the IS program. Her two emphases was something in science and something in humanities…and I felt so envious, more than I had ever felt in my life. And I asked myself, “Why can’t I do that?” And then I realized that I could if I wanted.

After deciding to major in philosophy and deciding to just stick to it, I had closed myself off to many great experiences in many different fields by not allowing myself to think about anything else that I am passionate about. But I have decided that I would like to do Integrated Studies. Now, I know that I have a reputation of changing my major one too many times (not at school but at home), but it is only because I really, really want to study so many things, more than I can possibly study in a lifetime. But I also feel that if I go into IS, I will have a better chance of seeing it through till the end. At least, I hope I will.

Integrated Studies is a program where students may integrate two fields of study into a single major. We call these fields “emphases.” I had chosen one emphasis in philosophy and another in some behavioral science, and a minor in some physical science. However, yesterday when I visited the IS advisor, she told me that I may call my minor a third emphasis.

So here are my three emphases: philosophy, psychology, and environmental studies. I get to study many more things that I want to learn about! That is, if I can get into the program. I still need to apply, including writing down a tentative schedule for the rest of my career in college, and a personal essay.

But this program basically teaches students how to find connections between different, seemingly unrelated, things; and it allows you to be a flexible citizen, knowing more things than a student with a regular degree. And isn’t that what an education is supposed to be.

Leave a comment