I am a thinker and a writer, and I study the universe.

International Who’s Who in Poetry

My sister recently got awarded to be part of the Who’s Who in Poetry 2012 edition. When I saw the certificate, I was shocked, and so was she. But I wasn’t surprised (except…isn’t that what shocked means?). She is great at poetry with so many great ideas, although she doesn’t think so. She is also in the process of entering something into the chapbook contest that the English department at my college does every semester or every year, I’m not sure. Anyway, I was recently thinking to myself that I never get awarded anything in literature. But that’s only because I don’t put much out there for others to see.

I think that sometimes I’m afraid that someone would say that they didn’t like it. That’s what every writer is afraid of when really, it isn’t possible to please absolutely everybody. I think we need to learn that we have value the way we are, whether it’s as a writer, a scientist, a doctor, a sanitation worker, a deliverer of newspapers, a student, or even just as yourself. We all have value, even if one person thinks we are hopeless. I have realized this week that I need to put more effort to achieving my goal of finishing a novel by next October. I need to put more effort into putting myself out there where I can be exposed to other writers. Sometimes this is frightening because there are so many great writers and so much criticism. However, there is also a lot of praise for a beginning writer like me. You never know what will be in store for you in the future. The only way to find out is to get out there and do it!

When I was younger, she and I submitted a poem to be published. We were both chosen. But, for some reason, they neglected to add mine into it. I wanted to cry; maybe they thought I was so pathetic that they just decided to lie to me and tell me they would publish it when in reality they weren’t really going to. So I stopped poetry then and moved on to something. I was jealous of my sister.

Siddhārtha Gautama, or the Buddha, once said, “Do not be jealous of the good qualities of others, but, out of admiration, adopt them for yourself.” My sister has many good qualities, one of which happens to be hardworking. She works hard for her goals and always follows through with them. I want to become like her…not in a professional sense (I’m not planning on trying to publish a book of poems or becoming an illustrator), but I want to have qualities that she possesses.

If we all realized that we all have value no matter who we are or where we came from, we would be more willing to take risks and get out there and show ourselves. Life is a journey, a hard journey, so why not enjoy it once in a while?

Leave a Reply

